I am sorry

Screenshot_2016-06-07-20-46-11-1

We won the Scottish Cup and were celebrating 2 days long. The streets were full and half of Edinburgh was celebrating with us together. I can only say that the 19th of May 2012 became one of the best days of my life. The following 2 days were also not bad. I was walking through the city and people were calling me a Legend and wanted to take pictures with/off me. The day after we lifted the Scottish Cup I ordered a Taxi to take me to town and the taxi driver recognized me, so he got out of the car and asked me to do a “5:1” picture. Furthermore he gave me his number and said: “If you ever need a taxi, just call me and I will drive you for free.” (His name was David, and I am still thankful to him) In the evening I went to a restaurant called Bar Roma together with Mariuz Zaliukas and Arvydas Novikovas and the owner of the restaurant screamed through the whole restaurant: „Attention everybody, we have got Scottish Cup winners eating with us tonight, and they can eat here for free for 1 month.” At night we went to some nightclub and within a few seconds we were surrounded by women who were just waiting to be taken home by us. It’s just unbelievable how everything can change from one day to another.

IMG-20120812-WA002

The following week our summer break started and I flew to Berlin to visit my parents. Of course I didn’t realized how much the previous events and experiences have changed me, for the worse. I came home, threw money on the table and said in an arrogant tone: “ Here Dad and Mum, a gift from me.“ Coming home to Berlin and visiting my parents was always something special for me, but that summer I became bored of it after a few days, it was not decadent enough. The following Saturday morning I went to my parents and said:“ Listen, I want to go to Italy and if you want you can come with me.” Of course my mother had noticed that I had become a little arrogant, but she held herself back and agreed to come for 1 week.

Arrived in Italy we chose the best and most expensive hotel. Everything was only about me and my desires. I actually really enjoyed the time in Italy really but I didn’t notice how disrespectful I behaved towards my parents.

I was treating my Dad like a little bother or so and my mother as a friend. Everything went out of control when a small discussion turned into a big argument and completely out of nowhere I said: „What do you want from me? I gave you so much money and you criticize me? Everything I have achieved, I have done by myself „. My Mum immediately began to cry and said that she doesn’t need my money and that I can have it back. She shouted at me that she doesn’t even recognize me anymore I am not longer her son. But I just replied coldly: „Okay, no problem, tomorrow I’ll fly back to Scotland and won’t come back.“

The next evening my parents flew back to Berlin without me because I was sitting on the plane to Edinburgh. When I was sitting alone in my room I realized what an Asshole I’ve been and how disrespectful I have behaved towards my parents. All because of some fame and money.  In this moment I realized that everything I am and everything I have is because of my parents. Without them I would be nowhere and I should be thankful to them every single day.  The hard and important training with my father, the sacrifices my mother had to take because of me and all the time them 2 have invested in me. Everything due to my parents and how did I behave towards them? Like a disrespectful asshole. This evening changed everything! It was time to work on my character:

Respect yourself, respect others, be responsible for all your actions.

That same evening I went to church and prayed to God. I wanted to apologize for the trouble I had caused my parents. I swore to myself that I will change again to the old Denis: “I will never ever get influenced by money again; keep my feet to the ground; respect all the people, especially my family; never make someone small or do evil to someone.”

 When you realize that you made a mistake, try to fix it asap.

The next morning I flew back to Berlin to apologize to my parents .

When you say: I am sorry -always look that person into the eye.

Until today, I stand to my words. Many people ask me why I stopped buying so expensive things like before. Why I drive a VW Polo and not a Mercedes anymore? Why did I become so modest? I’m just trying to stay true to myself. It is really hard for me to talk about “this part” of my life and to open up about it, but this arrogant asshole that I was is history. Perhaps I had to go through this phase to find out what and how I DON’T want to be. I have learned what fame and money can do to you.

20160607_202831-1 (1)

Me: „Why do poor people are more welcoming and less stingy than the rich people“?

Wise Man: „Look out your window. What do you see?”

Me: „I see the children playing in the yard. “

Wise Man: „Now go to the mirror and look in it. What do you see there?”

Me: „I only see myself. “

Wise Man: „Here you go. The window and mirror are very similar -basically both are just glass. But if you add some silver –you only see yourself.”

Hinterlasse einen Kommentar